Crystal Palace
3:00 PM UTC
Game Details

Uganda name squad to face Ghana

Uganda caretaker coach Moses Basena has recalled two instrumental midfielders to the squad that will battle Ghana in a 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier next month.

Tony Mawejje and Geoffrey Kizito, who missed the double-header against Egypt through, have been included for the must-win match at the Mandela National Stadium in Kampala.

Mawejje, who scored his first goal for Albanian outfit FK Tirana last weekend, has not featured for the national team since the Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon earlier this year.

"I'm happy that Mawejje is now having much more playing time; he will be instrumental against Ghana," Basena told KweséESPN.

In the absence of the suspended Khalid Aucho, the experience of Mawejje -- along with goalkeeper Denis Onyango -- will be vital. Onyango told KweséESPN that having Mawejje in the team will be very important, adding: "He will be hungry to prove a point since he has not featured for the team since early this year.

"Although we will miss Aucho and Murushid Juuko because of suspension, we still have a strong team that can get the result."

The inclusion of Kizito, who plies his trade in Vietnam, gives Basena more attacking options with his good awareness going forward and excellent passing range.

The Cranes are currently second in Group E with seven points from four matches, two behind leaders Egypt.

Meanwhile, the Uganda FA have confirmed that Basena will remain in charge for the remainder of the qualifying campaign. He took over following the acrimonious split with Milutin Sredojovic, and led the side to a famous 1-0 win over seven-time Nations Cup winners Egypt. Other than the Ghana clash, he will also oversee the final qualifier away to Congo-Brazzaville.

Uganda Squad

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango, Benjamin Ochan, Isma Watenga, Tom Ikara

Defenders: Denis Iguma, Nicholas Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi, Isaac Muleme, Isaac Isinde, Bernard Muwanga, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Timothy Awany

Midfielders: Tony Mawejje, Geoffrey Kizito, Muzamir Mutyaba, Tom Masiko, Ivan Ntege, Luwagga Kizito

Strikers: Milton Karisa, Joseph Ochaya, Emmanuel Okwi, Farouk Miya, Idrisa Lubega, Derrick Nsibambi, Nelson Senkatuka, Geoffrey Serunkuma, Shafiq Kagimu, Paul Mucureezi, Gadaffi Gardinho, John Adriko, Fred Okot, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Tadeo Lwanga


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.